Day “six”: relax

I somehow managed to mess up the question order of this personal growth exercise – oops! I’ll get back on track ASAP…

How do you like to relax?

I have always found it challenging to relax. I constantly feel like I should be productive. I don’t do well with downtime. For me, doing something “relaxing” and practicing “self-care” often start with the best of intentions. However, I usually end up multitasking and become more stressed out than I was before I began. When I finally give in (with a lot of effort on my part) to “single-tasking”, a few of my favorite ways that I take it easy are:

  • Crocheting while watching one of my favorite TV shows or movies. It can become stressful to try to concentrate on a something that I haven’t seen before while also focusing on a project. I am much more relaxed while having background noise and visuals of something familiar on.
  • Reading a good book
  • Writing – anything: lists, random thoughts, doodles
  • Smelling a fragrant candle and watching the flame flicker
  • Going on a walk or yoga/stretching

relax

I’m sure I can list 10 more things, but I’d say those are my main stress outlets!

I would love to hear your go-to relaxation methods!

Onwards & Upwards…

Leave a Reply

