(un)happy holidays

0660c57c4fff995c81af832826cbdfd4

This can be a tough time of year for many people. I’m one of those people that struggles to be “happy” over the holidays. Many reasons contribute to it being a challenging season. In particular, it marks the time of year I entered treatment, resistant to change.

Sometimes it feels like my journey began yesterday and others it seems like was longer than the *7* years when I stepped through that door.
To put it lightly, life after leaving what had ironically become my “safe place” was not easy. I was not “cured.” I encountered obstacles I had never dreamt of. But I’m still here. Still fighting – obviously with a multitude of support from professionals, my family, my friends, and even strangers.

This holiday season I am looking forward to curling up to “It’s a Wonderful Life” with more mindfulness of how quickly life can change and the gratitude for my “Clarence(s).”

Leave a Reply

