Entitled One

I recently received a challenge from a young adult ministry that I attend on occasion. The topic struck me as I am going through a “transitional phase” of my life right now. Thinking a lot about the past, my present situation, and what I want in the future. The goal is to come up with a list of 100 things that I feel entitled to. I don’t know if I can come up with 100 that easily, but we’ll see how it goes. First off. What is entitlement?

Simple definition of Entitlement:

  • the condition of having a right to have, do, or get something
  • the feeling or belief that you deserve to be given something (such as special privileges)
  • a type of financial help provided by the government for members of a particular group

I will start with 25 things:

  • A salaried job because I received my Bachelor’s degree
  • Making more money, especially more than my friends becauseI “work harder” and/or I’m “smarter”
  • A job that makes me feel full of purpose
  • Paid holidays and time off work
  • Disposable income
  • Live debt-free
  • Prayer to come naturally
  • Feeling like I belong in a church community
  • Having more friends
  • Not having to initiate conversations or outings with friends
  • Not having to defend myself over ever though or action
  • People take me seriously
  • Respect
  • Praise and recognition from others
  • Not feeling bored
  • To be free from anxiety and depression
  • To not have to worry about health care and insurance
  • Protection from natural disasters and other accidents
  • Getting a full refund for all my wedding expenses even though I cancelled it two weeks before – my fiance and I weren’t ready to get married
  • Being able to date whomever I want
  • Finding a godly man who loves me and shares my values
  • Parents who don’t treat me like I’m still in high school
  • To be living on my own, not back in with my parents
  • Not having to pay so much for gas and transportation
  • A shorter commute

What are somethings that you feel entitled to?

Entitlement: What Do You Think You Deserve?

One thought on “Entitled One

Leave a Reply

